top of page
  • Writer's pictureLisa van der Wilt

Week 1: Ancient Egyptian

Welcome to a new thing called Food Through Time. I had originally planned to do this in 2018 but didn't have the time. Since 2020 and 2021 are giving me endless time to do projects here is my project.


I picked Ancient Egyptian to start us off as my brother was always fascinated with hyroglyphs and things like that it fascinated me as well.


My sister helped me cook the dishes and most were pretty simple. It took the bread most of the morning to work on all that rising and things like that. But the meal alone took maybe an hour?

^ Here we have Tigernut Sweets. It was meant to be rolled but it didn't work and so it was easier to make it in squares like. Here is the recipe.


^ Mousska, i will admit I didn't eat it. I couldn't cut into it to make it swallowable because why would I chew it? The others did enjoy it and here is the recipe if you want to make it.


^ Egyptian Bread. So I am a few days since we cooked it and I now realized it said whole wheat flour. SO I didn't listen and make it the right way :( but regardless it was yummy. Recipe.


^ So the above was a Meat Stew that was suggested to eat with a flatbread and/or rice. So I chose to do a bowl of simple brown rice with butter, salt and pepper. The recipe for the meat stew is here. I also have never eaten okra before. Not a bad thing. Recipe here.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page